Akash Deep struck gold in the second innings of the Edgbaston Test by dismissing Joe Root with a sensational delivery that shattered the stumps. The wicket proved to be a crucial moment as India wrapped up a dominant victory, thrashing England by 336 runs in the second Test at Birmingham.
Akash Deep was the standout performer for India, claiming an impressive ten-wicket haul in the match, including six scalps in the second innings alone. His dismissal of former England captain Joe Root on Day 4 was a highlight — a picture-perfect delivery that left the crowd stunned and gave India a major breakthrough.
However, the wicket soon sparked controversy. Replays appeared to show Akash’s back foot landing wide and close to the return crease, raising suspicions of a back-foot no-ball. While the third umpire allowed the dismissal to stand, ruling the delivery legal, some commentators, including Jonathan Trott, suggested it should have been called a no-ball. Several media outlets echoed the sentiment, pointing out the questionable foot placement.
Despite the debate, the decision stayed, and Akash Deep’s memorable performance played a key role in India’s emphatic Test win.
MCC Confirms Akash Deep’s Delivery to Dismiss Joe Root Was Legal

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has officially confirmed that Akash Deep’s delivery which dismissed Joe Root during the second Test was indeed legal. Speaking to Cricbuzz, an MCC spokesperson clarified that the delivery adhered to ICC rules and did not constitute a no-ball.
“During Day Four of the Test match between India and England last week, there was some debate over Akash Deep’s delivery that bowled Joe Root,” the spokesperson said. “Fans and some commentators speculated it might have been a no-ball due to where his back foot landed.”
He explained further, “Although Akash landed unusually wide on the crease and part of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no-ball – and rightly so. MCC can confirm that the decision was in line with the Laws of the game.”
Providing more clarity, he added, “At the moment his foot first touched the ground, it was inside the return crease. Even if a portion of his foot touched the ground outside the crease afterward, that does not violate the Law. What matters is the initial point of contact, which was legal.”
While the legality of the delivery was a hot topic, Akash Deep also let the ball do the talking. The Indian pacer delivered a stunning performance, claiming six wickets in the innings. Chasing a mammoth 608, England were bundled out for 271, thanks largely to Akash’s efforts.
India’s emphatic win has levelled the five-match series at 1-1. The third Test will now take place at the iconic Lord’s Cricket Ground in London, starting July 10.